en / pl

This septet!

concert number 15


Radosław Soroka clarinet
Piotr Kamiński bassoon
Henryk Kowalewicz french horn
Liya Petrova violin
Adrien Boisseau viola
Aurelin Pascal cello
Nicholas Franco double bass


Septet in E-flat major, Op.20

I. Adagio – Allegro con brio

II. Adagio cantabile

III. Tempo di menuetto

IV. Tema con variazioni: Andante

V. Scherzo: Allegro molto e vivace

VI. Andante con moto alla marcia Presto

Concert description


Beethoven’s Septet in E flat major is one of those fortunate cases where an important piece in the history of music delighted listeners and performers during the composer’s lifetime. Given the numerous arrangements for various ensembles, Beethoven’s own arrangement for piano trio, Op. 38, and multiple accounts of home performances throughout the 19th century, the septet can be viewed as one of the composer’s most popular works. The light character of Mozart’s music is present in the series, as Beethoven’s Septet shares many similarities with Divertimento in D major KV 334.