en / pl

Triple concerto

concert number 18


Liya Petrova violin
Aurelin Pascal cello
Jonas Vitaud piano
Bassem Akiki conductor
Sinfonia Varsovia
Paweł Gusnar artistic direction
Warsaw Saxophone Orchestra


Beethoven for 12 saxophones

Egmont Overture, Op. 84

Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano in C major, Op. 56

I. Allegro

II. Largo
III. Rondo alla polacca

Concert description


Beethoven composed symphonies, concertos, piano sonatas, and quartets. He is most closely associated with the musical forms he redefined. However, it is worth remembering that Beethoven’s first opus is a set of piano trios. Inherited from Haydn and Mozart, this form accompanied Beethoven through his whole life and must have been important to him, as in his Triple Concerto from 1804 he gave voice to as many as three soloists – violin, cello and piano. In this rarely performed piece, the Polish listener may hear the familiar rhythm of the polonaise, often mistaken for a bolero, which is one more reason to get familiarized with the Triple Concerto. The concert will open with Paweł Gusnar’s spectacular 12-person Warsaw Saxophone Orchestra performing a medley of Beethoven themes.